My First Experience With Python:

Anisha Chitta
2 min readOct 31, 2020

I shouldn’t say first experience. My first experience with Python was when I was 4, at the San Diego Zoo, with the large, scaly beast around my scrawny shoulders. But today, today was new. It was a slightly less dangerous version, and trapped behind the pixelated screen of my PC. I followed the guidance of an instructional video, and this is the first thing I was told to type/code:

“HELLO WORLD”

Personally, I find it ironic that the same device that tells me non-stop to stay at home to prevent covid-19, asked me to go say hello to the world. Irony aside however, it didn’t take me long to realize that this programming language was IMMENSELY powerful. And simpler to use than I expected. I, like many other programming newbies, was terrified when I first saw the extensive lines of code, and weird, alien-looking syntax. Strings, to numbers, to data types, to variables, to functions: the list seemed unceasing. But as I continued my lessons. I found it quite similar to learning a language like Spanish or French. You begin by learning the definition of key words. Casa=house; function= a series of instructions followed by the program using a stated variable(s). Then you move on to the grammar, which leads to the formation of sentences(code). I really recomment you guys try and learn this language. I went from printing irrelevant phrases to making an encrypted function to calculate interest:

The power you have when it comes to this application is unimaginable, and truly speaking, your only barrier is your imagination. Being one of the simplest, yet one of the most effective, programming languages out there, guys it is just begging to be learnt. You want to manage your tax returns? Write code to do it. Thinking of encrypting your [insert valuable], code it. If you are religious, like me, you can make your computer chant something a thousand times. For me, it is the phrase, “Jai Sri Ram”:

This language is also probably one of the best ways to keep busy during the coronavirus epidemic. In California, schools have shut down for the rest of the year. Bummer. My friends are acting out in unimaginable ways. Maybe I should program code to block all of their coronavirus spam :)

Ciao Fellow Bloggers,

Anisha

--

--